Students’ Union AGM report: Tuesday 1st May 2018

The results are in! Tuesday 1st May 2018 saw the Swansea University Students Union AGM. This saw 9 motions being put to vote, which were: FTO Mental Health Training, Hearing Inclusivity, National Living Wage, Real Living Wage, Welsh Affairs FTO, Reserve NUS Delegate Place for President, Period Poverty Motion, Trans and Non-Binary Officer and finally Investment Oversight Committee.

FTO Mental Health Training
(proposed by Shona Johnson, seconded by Chisomo Phiri)

Hearing Inclusivity
(proposed by Chloe Morgan, seconded by Shona Johnson)

National Living Wage
(proposed by Michael Badwen, seconded by Connor Davies)

Real Living Wage
(proposed by Shaun Bendle, seconded by Jack Dunne)

Welsh Affairs FTO
(proposed by Tomos Watson, seconded by Gwyn Aled Rennolf)

Period Poverty Motion
(proposed by Shona Johnson, seconded by Chisomo Phiri)

Trans and Non-Binary Officer
(proposed by Joe Davern, seconded by Shona Johnson)

Investment Oversight Committee
(proposed by Omar Mendy, seconded by Joe Meredith)
Deferred until the next student forum (May 15th) due to lack of information.

Reserve NUS Delegate Place for President
(proposed by Chisomo Phiri, seconded by Chris Freestone)
Did not pass due to lack of simple majority.

This now means that now Students’ Union staff will be paid the national living wage, increasing to the actual living wage by 2021. The Students’ Union will be pressuring the University to install T-loops in all reception areas and buildings used for lectures/ seminars/ meetings, for anyone to use. There will be a new Trans and Non-Binary Part Time Officer, the SU will provide free sanitary products, all Full Time Officers will receive mental health training, plus there may be a brand new Full Time Officer! A referendum on the role of a Welsh Affairs FTO will commence next academic year!

These all seem like welcome changes to our Students’ Union. Congratulations to everyone who got to put forward a motion and everyone who spoke at the AGM. It’s safe to say that we’re all looking forward to next year!

by Megan Thomas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.